Skip to content

St. John’s Lutheran awards scholarships

Friday, June 12, 2009 3:00 AM

South Rowan senior Addisson Corriher has been named recipient of the Brian Scott Smith Scholarship. He received the award at St. John’s Lutheran Church on June 8. The scholarship, named in honor of Scott Smith, is funded each year by the Scott Smith Golf Tournament.

The student selected each year to receive this four-year commitment best represents the character of Smith, a scholar-athlete. As a junior, Corriher was selected to attend a Duke program and studied abroad in China during the summer of 2008. He is an Eagle Scout and avid runner and actively participates in the South Rowan Student Government Association. Corriher will attend Duke University and plans to major in business.

Recipients of the Dorothy Click Fesperman Scholarship include:

Sara Beaver, daughter of Trip and Carol Beaver, who will attend the University of Wyoming; James Thomas Beaver, also a child of Trip and Carol Beaver, who will attend Western Carolina University; Alex Britt, son of Larry and Jane Britt, who will attend Mars Hill College; Julie Carr, a nursing student at UNC-Charlotte; Katie Gardner, daughter of Tim and Kerry Gardner, who is enrolled at Clemson Medical University; Liza Hazlett, daughter of Terry and Shelia Hazlett, who attends RCCC; Miles Jordan, son of Stan and Sandy Jordan, who will attend the College of Charleston; Kay Rufty, daughter of Oscho and Vicki Rufty, who will attend UNC-Chapel Hill; Will Stokes, son of Glenn and Amy Stokes, who will attend Wingate; Daniel Waggoner, son of Dan and Janet Waggoner, will attend UNC-Charlotte or Lenior-Rhyne University; and Jenna Wilson, daughter of David and Mary Wilson, who attends Appalachian State University.

Recipients of the Margaret Cline and Ernest Crawford Safrit Jr. Scholarship are Samantha Grooms, who will attend UNC-Wilmington, and Meagan Puckett, daughter of Steve and Karen Puckett, who will attend UNC-Chapel Hill.

The Thomas E. Gilbert and Viola H. Bailey Scholarship is awarded to Lucy Wilson, daughter of Martha Wilson, who will attend East Carolina University.

The Hugh B. Lylerly Scholarship was awarded to Laura Mullis, daughter of Clara and Tommy Mullis, who will attend Liberty University.

The Bruce Alden Ketner Jr. Scholarship is granted to Taylor Thigpen, daughter of Melissa Jones, who attends UNC-Charlotte.

The Clyde Edgar and Edna Cauble Leazer Church Music Scholarship recipient is James Mullis, son of Clara and Tommy Mullis, who will attend UNC-Charlotte.

Benn Wineka, son of Mark and Lindsay Wineka, received the Emily Brown Scholarship to continue studies at UNC-Chapel Hill.

The Scott Rierson Scholarship is given to David Shirley, son of Steve and Nancy Shirley, who attends Virginia Tech.

Leave a Reply