Skip to content

Ten Candidates Qualify to Replace Convicted Sen. Crutchfield

Ten Candidates Qualify to Replace Convicted Sen. Crutchfield

August 23, 2007 – 2:23PM
candidates have formally qualified to run for Tennessee 10th District
Senate Race vacated by convicted Senator Ward Crutchfield. The deadline
to qualify was Noon today. A special primary election will be held
October 4.

The Democrats who qualified include Andy Berke, Ken Jordan, Walt "Combat" Ward, Lee Carl Whitaker and John Wolfe.

The Republicans who qualified include Mark Albertini, Oscar Brock, Oscar Brown, Travis Layne and Basil Marceaux.

Charlotte Mullis with the Hamilton County Election Commission says
all necessary qualifying papers were in order for the ten candidates
and they’ll will be formally certified by the Election Commission this
week. She said candidates have until August 30 to withdraw… otherwise
their names will appear on the Oct. 4 ballot regardless.

The 10th District has historically been a Democratic district. Of
course former Senator Crutchfield has held the seat continuously since

Channel 9 News Chattanooga, TN

Leave a Reply